News ~  About Us ~  Windmills ~  Watermills ~ Windmill Archive ~  Watermill Archive ~ Contact

 
 

Buttrum's Windmill
Woodbridge


When Buttrum’s Mill was built in 1836, it was at the cutting edge of milling technology, a product of the famous Suffolk millwright John Whitmore. Visitors can climb the tall tower to see his elegant machinery, including four pairs of millstones. Visitors are shown how the cap is automatically turned to face the wind by the fantail, and how the sails are made to turn by closing nearly 200 shutters. There is an attractive ground floor display all about the mill.
Buttrum’s Mill is privately owned and maintained by Suffolk County Council.

Location

TM 264 493
OS Sheet 169
In Burkitt Road, Woodbridge, 1/2 mile W of town centre. Turn off A12 at Grundisburgh Road roundabout, mill is signposted. Small car park adjacent

Open days 2019 (all 1.30 - 4.30pm)

Sundays May 5th & May 12th
Sundays June 2nd & June 16th
Sundays July 7th & 21st
Sundays August 4th & 18th
Sunday September 1st, Saturday 14th & Sunday 15th
Sundays October 6th & 20th

Guided tours are free with donations to St Elizabeth Hospice or East Suffolk Association for the Blind.

Other times by appointment

Enquiries
Mark Barnard
Suffolk County Council
01473 264755.

E-mail
mark.barnard@suffolk.gov.uk

 
 
   
 
   
   
   
   
   
   
   
   
   
   
   
   
 All content © Suffolk Mills Group  |  Site designed by Mohawk Visuals